Administrative System : Structure of the State Government ; Ministries and Departments

Constitutional guarantees and provisions, Union and State laws as well as policies and programmes for economic and social development are relevant to the daily lives of the people only to the extent they are implemented honestly and efficiently. The Constitution of India gives a special role and responsibility to the State Governments for preserving public order and ensuring the welfare of citizens. The Seventh Schedule which clearly demarcates the legislative and functional domain of the Union and the States, highlights the critical role envisaged for State Governments in fulfilling the aspirations set out in the Directive Principles of State Policy.

State secretariat is the nerve center of state administration. It consists of several ministries and departments of state government. The Ministries, departments are headed politically by the ministers and administratively by the secretaries. The chief secretary is the head of the entire state secretariat, while, a secretary is head of one or two departments. He is usually a senior IAS officer. Here, it should be noted that the secretary is a secretary to the state government as a whole and not to the individual minister concern.

The State Secretariat performs mainly the following functions:

  • To assist the Minister in the fulfilment of his task.
  • To formulate the policies and programmes of the state government.
  • To coordinate amongst the programmes of the state government.
  • To prepare the state budget.
  • To frame legislation, rules and regulations.
  • To review the results of the execution of the policy.
  • To maintain contacts with Central and other State governments.
  • To receive the complaints, representations and appeals from the people and solve them.
  • To serve as a think-tank of the state government

Uttarakhand Government has an extensive bifurcation of departments for the effective administration of the state, following is the list of departments:-

  1. 20 Point Programme & Implementation (Department of Planning)
  2. Agriculture
  3. Accounts & Entitlement
  4. Animal Husbandry
  5. Budget
  6. Chief Development Officer
  7. Commercial Tax
  8. Dairy development
  9. Disaster Mitigation and Management Centre
  10. Election
  11. Employment
  12. Entertainment tax/ trade tax
  13. Excise
  14. Firms, Societies and Chitfunds
  15. Fisheries
  16. Food and Civil Supplies
  17. Forest
  18. Geology and geomining unit
  19. Higher Education
  20. Information
  21. Irrigation
  22. ITDA
  23. Labour
  24. Medical Education
  25. Medical, Health and Family Welfare
  26. Panchayati Raj
  27. Police
  28. Public Works
  29. Rashtriya Madhyamik Shiksha Abhiyan
  30. Revenue
  31. Rural development
  32. Rural Engineering Service
  33. Sanskrit Education
  34. Sarva Siksha Abhiyan
  35. school education
  36. Sericulture
  37. Social welfare
  38. Sports
  39. Stamps & Registration
  40. State Horticulture Mission
  41. State Planning Department, Govt. of Uttarakhand
  42. Tourism
  43. Town and Country Planning
  44. Transport
  45. Uttarakhand Jal Sansthan
  46. Uttarakhand Renewable Energy Development Agency
  47. Uttarakhand Rural Roads Development Agency
  48. Vigilance
  49. Women Empowerment and Child Development
error: Content is protected !!