Other Contemporary States

  Bihar   After Saadat Khan, *Safdarjung* became the king  who was an impartial ruler &
        carried out many reforms & was made the wazir of mughal empire. Shuja-ud-Daula
        succeded him to throne. He was also made the wazir of mughal empire but he sided
        with Ahmad Shah Abdali in the Third Battle of Panipat.
  Bengal   Murshid Quli Khan was an able ruler. Later his son in law Shuja-ud-din & his son
        Sarfaraz came in that order. Sarfaraz was defeated by Alivardi Khan of Bihar. Later
        Alivardi Khan was defeated by Raghuji Bhonsle & forced him to surrender Orissa.
        After the death of Alivardi khan his grandson Siraj-ud-daula tool over who lost to
        Britishers under Lord Clive.
  Hyderabad   Nizam-ul-mulk Asaf Jah founded the state of Hyderabad in 1724.
  Mysore &   Since the downfall of the Vijaynagar empire Wodeyar dynasty was ruling. But in
  Haider Ali   the 18th century two minister Nanjaraj & Devaraj usurped power early reducing the
        King Krishna Raj to a puppet. Haider Ali rose to become the Commander-in-Chief
        of the Mysore army & became the sultan after Nanjraj’s death. He was defeated by
        Peshwa Madhav Rao.
  Tipu Sultan   He defeated the combined forces of Marathas & Nizam in 1787 & soon after
        claimed himself Padshah at Seringapattam. He attempted to reduce the custom of
        jagirs& hereditary possession of poligars (small chieftans). He was a staunch
        muslim. He donated money to hindus but later got the temples abolished.
  Travancore   Martanda Verma  
  Rajput States   Marwar (Ajit Singh), Amer (Sawai Jai Singh)
  Rohilkhand   Area between Agra & Awadh. Muhammad Khan Bangash ruled who was defeated
        by Maharana Chhatrasal of Bundelkhand with the help of Marathas.
  Sikhs   Ruler of one of the 12 Misls called Sukarchakiya. He with the help of his brave
        commander Hari Singh Nalwa won Multan, Kashmir & Peshawar.
error: Content is protected !!